Tanzania Football Federation - Structure, Academy, Presidents, Stadium and More

Tanzania Football Federation – Structure, Academy, Presidents, Stadium and More

Tanzania’s football regulating body is the Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) (Known as Shirikisho la Mpira wa Miguu Tanzania in Swahili), which was previously known as the Football Association of Tanzania. The Tanzanian football league system, the Tanzanian men and women national football teams are all overseen by it. It was established in 1945 and has been a FIFA member since 1964. As of 2017, Wallace Karia is the Federation’s serving present.


Tanzania Soccer Academy (TSA) was founded in 2008 January by the Tanzania Football Federation in collaboration with Peter Johnson to improve football and grant complete education scholarships for athletes.

National Stadium

The National Main Stadium in Dar es Salaam is a multi-purpose stadium. It was constructed next to Uhuru Stadium, the then national stadium and was launched in 2007. Major football events occur here including the Premier League of Tanzania as well as the home game of the national team of Tanzania.

Presidents of the Tanzania Football Association

  • 1967 – 1974 Ali Chambuso
  • 1974 – 1987 Said El Maamry
  • 1987 – 1992 Mohamed Mussa
  • 1992 – 2004 Muhidn Ndolanga
  • 2004 – 2013 Leodgar Tenga
  • 2013 – 2017 Jamal E Malinzi
  • 2017 – now Wallace Karia
Wallace Karia
Wallace Karia

Tanzania Football Federation Staff as of 2021

Name Position
Wallace Karia President
Athumani Nyamlani Vice President
Kidao Wilfred General Secretary
Cornell Barnabas Finance Director
Oscar Mirambo Technical Director
Salum Madadi Competition Director
Boniphace Wambura Director of Media, Legal and Marketing
Kim Poulsen Men’s National Coach
Bakari Shime Nyundo Women’s National Coach
Kassim Mwangia Haji Referee Coordianator

For more articles related to Tanzania Sports, click here!

Recommended Articles From Around the Web