Masasi District – History, Council, Wards and More

Masasi District – History, Council, Wards and More

Overview of Masasi Tanzania

Masasi is one of the 6 districts found in Mtwara Region, Tanzania. The northern part of Masasi District borders Lindi Region. It is bordered by the Ruvuma River and Mozambique to the south, while Nanyumbu borders the district to the west.

Masasi district has a population of 247,993 people according to the national census conducted in 2012, while the population of Masasi town was 102,696.

The Council

There are seven councils in the Mtwara Region, and one of them is Masasi District Council. Ruangwa and Nachingwea Districts border the district to the north. It is bordered by Newala and Lindi Districts to the east, Nanyumbu District to the west, and River Ruvuma to the south. The council headquarters is situated 210 km west of Mtwara Municipality, which is the headquarters of the region. The Masasi district council also surrounds a new Masasi town council which began operating in July 2012.

A total of  864 hamlets, 23 wards, 159 villages, and five administrative divisions are found in the council. Its total area is 1,478.7 sq mi (3,829.9 km2) and constitutes 20.8 percent of the entire region. Masasi is administratively divided into two constituencies – Lulindi and Masasi. The council has 46 councilors in all.

Bridge on Ruvuma river - view from the Mozambique side

According to the National Population Census held in 2002, the total population of Masasi Mtwara District was 307,211, with a 2.1% yearly growth rate before the councils were split. The current population is 260,856, according to the 2012 National Population Census. There are 135,705 females and 125,151 males.

Masasi District Council was created under Section 5 of the Local Government Act of 1982 under the ministerial establishment order number dated January 1, 1984, and Certification of Establishment number 17420/12-83 issued by the Clerk of the National Assembly on December 31, 1983.


The 18 administrative wards in Masasi District are as follows:

  1. Namajani
  2. Nanjota
  3. Nanganga
  4. Namalenga
  5. Namatutwe
  6. Sindano
  7. Mnavira
  8. Mwena
  9. Mpindimbi
  10. Mkululu
  11. Lulindi
  12. Mkundi
  13. Mkululu
  14. Mbuyuni
  15. Lukuledi
  16. Lipumburu
  17. Chiungutwa
  18. Chigugu

Other Important Things About Masasi

Masasi airport

Masasi town council

For more articles related to regions of Tanzania click here!

Recommended Articles From Around the Web