Highlights of Major Cities of Tanzania

  1. Mbeya: This is the fifth largest city in Tanzania, with a population of 385,279. This city serves as the region’s administrative hub in Mbeya, Tanzania. Loleza Mountain is located just behind the city, and the surrounding area is quite mountainous and filled with vegetation like heather. Formed in the 1920s as a gold mining town, Mbeya saw an influx of farmers and small business owners in the 1970s, thanks to the TAZARA railway. The city is developing into a commercial and cultural center for the southern part of the country and the surrounding countries of Congo, Malawi, and Zambia. Attractions in the city include Lake Nyasa, the nearby Ruaha and Kitulo National Parks, the Mwalalo Water Falls, and the massive Mbozi meteorite. Mbeya City Football Club and Prisons Football Club, both of the Tanzanian Premier League, call the city of Mbeya their home.

What is the Capital City of Tanzania Now?

Pictures of Tanzania capital city
Pictures of Tanzania capital city
  1. Dodoma: The capital city of Tanzania is Dodoma and it is also the fourth largest city, is home to 410,956 people. It also serves as the national capital for the country’s Dodoma Region. When Tanzania was a part of German East Africa (1891-1919), the city was founded in 1907 by German colonists working on the Tanzanian central railway. Dodoma’s central location in Tanzania was a significant factor in its 1973 selection as the capital. Although Dodoma is the capital, it is home to only the National Assembly. Dodoma is home to two Anglican institutions of higher education: Canon Andrea Mwaka School and St. Johns University of Tanzania. Two football clubs, Polisi Dodoman and JKT Ruvu Stars compete in Tanzania’s Premier League here in Dodoma.

That said, if you are ever faced with questions such as what’s the capital city of Tanzania, what is the current capital city of Tanzania, what is the name of capital city of Tanzania, which is the capital city of Tanzania and so forth, now you know the answer is Dodoma. Most people confuse this and think it is Dar es Salaam, which is a commercial hub of the country.

  1. Arusha: With 416,444 people calling it home, Arusha is Tanzania’s third most populated metropolis. The Arusha Region of Tanzania also calls Arusha it’s capital. In the 1830s, the Masai of Arusha Chini began settling in what is now the city’s central business district. The city sits in the eastern parts of the Great Rift Valley, on the southern slopes of Mount Meru in the country’s northern region. This metropolis dominates its surrounding region as Tanzania’s economic and financial hub. Natural attractions such as Mount Kilimanjaro, Ngorongo Conservation Area, and Arusha National Park are easily accessible from the city. It also serves as the seat of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, the headquarters of the East African Community, and the location of the Drum’s Aang Serian Media. Also based in Arusha are the Tanzanian rugby team and Arusha FC.
  1. Mwanza:With a population of 706,544, Mwanza is the city of Tanzania that rank second as most populated city in the country. Mwanza serves as the regional capital of Mwanza in Tanzania. Founded not long after German East Africa colonial rule was established there in 1892, the city quickly grew to become an essential economic and cultural center. Located on the shores of Lake Victoria in northern Tanzania, the city is framed by dramatic rocky hills. The city’s prime location on a lake has made fishing a booming business, resulting in five fish processing plants being found inside its borders. The city also has the brand-new Rock City Mall, one of the largest shopping centers. The city is home to the Toto African football team of the Tanzanian Premier League and the city’s principal institution, St. Augustine University of Tanzania.
  1. Dar es Salaam: Home to 4,364,541 people, making it the most populous. It’s the commercial hub of Tanzania and the largest city in all of eastern Africa. Dar was built by Sultan Majid bin Said of Zanzibar (1834-70) in 1865. It is located close to Mzizima. Rebuilding from the near collapse was aided by the 1887 station of the German East Africa Company in the town. After the Germans abandoned East Africa, the British made Dar the capital of their Tanganyika province (1922-61). Up until 1973, Dar functioned as Tanzania’s capital. After that year, Dodoma took up that role. However, Dar remains home to most of Tanzania’s governmental institutions and embassies. Location on a natural harbor on Tanzania’s eastern coast. Dar is strategically important to the Tanzanian economy because it is home to the Bank of Tanzania, the country’s central bank, and the Dar Stock Exchange. The city is home to the PSPF Twin Towers, the country’s tallest buildings. Approximately 90% of the country’s total cargo passes through the capital city of Tanzania Dar es salaam, making it an important hub for shipping and commerce. Dar is home to multiple football teams and two of Tanzania’s National Museums.
map of tanzania showing cities
map of tanzania showing cities

List of Cities in Tanzania Ranking

Biggest Cities Ranking Population
Zanzibar City 10 223,033
Tabora 9 226,999
Kahama 8 242,208
Tanga 7 273,332
Morogoro 6 315,866
Mbeya 5 385,279
Dodoma 4 410,956
Arusha 3 416,442
Mwanza 2 706,543
Dar es Salaam (largest city of Tanzania) 1 4,364,541

Other Important Information

For more articles related to regions of Tanzania click here!

Recommended Articles From Around the Web