People Who Have Held the Vice President of Tanzania Position

People Who Have Held the Vice President of Tanzania Position

Here is a list of all the vice presidents of Tanzania since independence:

First Vice-Presidents

Term of Office: 1964 to 1972

Name: Abeid Karume

Birth – Death: [1905 to 1972]

The first Head of state of Zanzibar was Abeid A. Karume [the 4th of August 1905 – the 7th of April 1972]. He acquired this title due to a revolution that contributed to overthrowing His Royal highness Sir Jamshid B. Abdullah, the last crowned Emperor of Zanzibar, in Jan. 1964. Three months after the revolution, the Republic of Tanzania was established, with Karume as the first vice president of Tanzania and Julius Nyerere as the new country’s President. He was the biological father of Amani Abeid Karume, Zanzibar’s previous President.

Party: Afro-Shirazi Party

Term of O office: 1972 to 1984

Name: Aboud Jumbe

Birth – Death: [1920–2016]

Aboud Jumbe Mwinyi, a Zanzibari politician, was born on the 14th of June, 1920, and died on the 14th of August, 2016. He served as the 2nd president of Zanzibar, Head of the Revolutionary Committee, Vice-President of Tanzania, and VP of the CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi] political party, among other positions.

Jumbe died on the 14th of August, 2016, at the age of 96, in his residence in Kigamboni, Dar es Salaam.

Aboud Jumbe
Aboud Jumbe

Party: Afro-Shirazi Party [until 1977]

CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi] [from 1977]

Term of Office: 1984 to1985

Name: Ali Hassan Mwinyi

Date of birth [born 1925]

Ali Hassan M. [born the 8th of May, 1925] is the United Republic of Tanzanian politician who served as Tanzania’s second President from 1985 – 1995. Minister Of Interior and Vice President of Tanzania are among his previous positions. From 1990 until 1996, he was also the chairman of the ruling CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi] Party.

Party: CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi]

Term of Office: 1985–1990

Name: Joseph Warioba

Date of birth [born 1940]

From 1985 – 1990, Tanzania’s Prime Minister was Joseph S. Warioba [born on the 3rd of September 1940]. He also served as the Vice President of Tanzania at the same time. Since 2012, he has also functioned as chairman of the United Republic Tanzanian Constitutional Review Committee and as a judge on the Eastern African supreme Court of Justice.

Party: CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi]

Term of Office: 1990–1994

Name: John Malecela

Date of birth [born 1934]

John S. Malecela [born on the 19th of April 1934 in the locality of Bugiri Dodoma] served as the Prime Minister of the United Republic of Tanzania from November 1990 – December 1994. From 1995 – 2007, he was the CCM‘s vice-chairman, and he is still a part of the CCM Governing Board to date.

Party: CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi]

Term of Office: 1994–1995

Name: Cleopa Msuya

Date of birth [born 1931]

Cleopa David M. [born the 4th of January 1931] served as Tanzania’s Prime Minister from the 7th of November 1980 to the 24th of February 1983, and again from the 7th of December 1994 to the 28th of November 1995.

Party: CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi]

Second Vice-Presidents

Term of Office: 1964–1977

Name: Rashidi Kawawa

Birth – Death [1926–2009]

Rashidi Mfaume K. [the 27th of May 1926 to the 31st of December 2009] was Tanganyika’s Prime Minister in 1962 and the vice president of Tanzania from 1972 – 1977. From early January to late December 1962, he was the country’s Head of the Government while Julius Nyerere visited the countryside. Kawawa was a firm supporter of economic centralization. From 1977 until 1980, he was the Defense Minister.

Party: TANU [Tanganyika African National Union]

Term of Office: 1985–1990

Name: Idris Abdul Wakil

Idris Abdul Wakil
Idris Abdul Wakil

Birth – Death [1925–2009]

From the 24th of October 1985 to the 25th of October 1990, Idris Abdul Wakil [Born on the 10th of April 1925 and died on the 15th of March 2000] served as President of Zanzibar and vice president of Tanganyika.

Party: CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi]

Term of Office: 1990–1995

Name: Salmin Amour

Date of birth [born 1948]

Salmin Amour [conceived 1942] was the Leader of Zanzibar from the 25th of October 1990 to the 8th of November 2000. In 1990, he was voted as the sole contender, receiving 98 percent of the votes. Leader of the opposition party Seif Shariff Hamad accused Amour of manipulating the Zanzibari national elections in Tanzania’s 1st multi-party elections held in 1995.

Party: CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi]

Vice-presidents [single office]    

Term of Office: 1995–200]

Name: Omar Ali Juma

Birth – Death [1941–2001]

From the 25th of January 1988 till October 1995, Dr Omar Ali J. [Born on the 26th of June 1941 in the locality of Pemba, Chake-Chake, Zanzibar and died on the 4th of July 2001 in Dar city, Tanzania] served as Chief of state of Zanzibar. He was the Vice President of Tanzania from 1995 until 2001.

Party: CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi]

Term of Office: 2001–2010

Name: Ali Mohamed Shein

Date of birth [born 1948]

From 2010 till 2020, Ali Mohamed S. [born on the 13th of March 1948] served as the 7th Head of state of Zanzibar. From 2001 to 2010, he served as Vice President of the United Republic of Tanzania. Shein is a supporter of the elite CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi] political party and hails from the archipelago of Pemba. His profession is that of a medical doctor.

Party:   CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi]

Term of Office: 2010–2015

Name: Mohamed Gharib Bilal

Date of birth [born 1945]

Mohamed Gharib B., a Tanzanian political figure, served as the Chief of State of Zanzibar from early 1995 until 2000. From 2010 to 2015, he served as the Vice President of Tanzania. Mohamed is a nuclear physicist by training, and from 1990 till 1995, he was the Permanent Secretary of the Department of Science, Tech, as well as Higher Education.

Party:   CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi]

Term of Office: 2015–2021

Name: Samia Suluhu Hassan

Date of birth [born 1961]

Samia Suluhu H. (born on the 27th of January 1960] is a Tanzanian political figure who serves as the country’s sixth president. She is a part of the elite CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi] social-democratic party. Suluhu is Tanzania’s first female head of state and the third female President of an EAC [Eastern African Community] nation, accompanied by Sylvie Kinigi president of Burundi as well as Agathe Uwilingiyimana president of Rwanda. President John Magufuli died on the 17th of March 2021, and she took power on the 19th of March of the same year.

Party:   CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi]

Term of Office: 2021–present

Name: Philip Mpango

Date of birth [born 1957]

Philip Isdor M. [born on the 14th of July 1957] is a Tanzanian politician and economist who now serves as the Vice-President of Tanzania. He was elected as President of Tanzania on the 31st of March, 2021, after receiving overwhelming approval from the Tanzanian Assembly and being nominated by her excellency Madam Samia Suluhu on the 30th of March, 2021. Prior to that, he was the Tanzanian Cabinet’s Minister of planning and finance from early March 2015 to the 30th of March 2021.

Party: CCM [Chama Cha Mapinduzi]

Who is the Vice president of Tanzania now?

As of my knowledge cutoff of September 2021, the current Vice President of Tanzania is Philip Mpango. 

For more articles related to Government of Tanzania and the Society (Community), click here!

Recommended Articles From Around the Web