Things to Know About St Augustine University of Tanzania

Things to Know About St Augustine University of Tanzania

Located in the Mwanza region of Tanzania is St Augustine University of Tanzania (SAUT) is a private institution. In 1998, the university was established by Tanzania’s Catholic Bishops (accredited in 2002) as a secular, charitable, private institution. St Augustine University of Tanzania was initially known as Nyegezi Social Training Centre, then Nyegezi Social Training Institute before 1998.

St Augustine University of Tanzania has more than 10,000 students with an expected minimal rise every new school year. The university has students from Tanzania and other places, especially Sudan, Uganda, Kenya, Burundi, Ethiopia, Zambia, Malawi, and recently Germany, plus other countries. St Augustine University of Tanzania admits students regardless of nationality and religious affiliation.

St Augustine University of Tanzania sits on more than 600 acres (2.4 km2) of Nyegezi-Malimbe area, 10 km Mwanza south on Lake Victoria’s shore. The university is split into two campuses. The principal or old campus is home to the administration blocks, including the faculty of business administration. Malimbe campus, a km away, is home to the social sciences, faculty of law, business administration, engineering, mass communication and education.

Malimbe campus
Malimbe campus

Academic Programs at the St Augustine University of Tanzania Mwanza

St Augustine University of Tanzania reserved the advanced diploma and certificate courses that used to be offered by the Nyegezi Social Training Institute and included bachelor and masters programs in various faculties.

The law faculty has a four-year Bachelor of Law degree (LL.B) and a master’s degree in Law (LL.M) in multiple specialities, including Masters in Economic Law and many others. The faculty has built a reputation in the international arena for various continuous participation in the international moot court competitions.

Such as the African Human Rights Moot Court Competition in 2009 and 2011, which became the first of participating universities from Tanzania such as Ruaha University College (among its constituent colleges), University of Dar es Salaam, and the Tanzania Open University during the 2009 competition in Lagos, Nigeria.

During the 2011 competition in Pretoria, South Africa, St Augustine University of Tanzania took a similar lead against Mzumbe University and Muslims University in Africa’s prestigious competition. The Phillip C. Jessup Global Law Moot Court Competition in Washington D.C., USA, is a more prestigious annual competition. The faculty has built a strong reputation from its first participation in 2010.

Faculty of Social Sciences and Mass Communications

St Augustine University of Tanzania courses offered at this facultyare the following;

Master of Arts

  1. Mass Communication

Bachelor of Arts

  1. Mass Communication
  2. Education
  3. Public relations and Marketing
  4. Sociology, a # Postgraduate Diploma in Mass Communication an # Advanced Diploma in Journalism
  5. Public Relations and marketing
  6. Philosophy and Ethics

Certificate Course

  1. Journalism and Media Studies

Faculty of Business Administration

The faculty offers the following courses:

Bachelor programs

  1. Business Administration

BA programs

  1. Accounting and Finance
  2. Marketing
  3. Human Resources
  4. Arts in Economics
  5. Procurement and Logistics

With the degree programs aside, Advanced Diploma programs include Accountancy and Procurement and Logistics Management, a Postgraduate Diploma in Accounting and Finance.

And the Certificate Course includes Accountancy, Health Administration, Food Security and Grain Management, and Logistics Management.

University Institutions and Constituent Colleges

St Augustine University of Tanzania incorporates eight respective constituent colleges, including:-

  1. Arch. James University College
  2. Mwenge University College of Education
  3. Jordan University College
  4. Arch. Mihayo University College of Tabora
  5. Stella Maris Mtwara University College
  6. Cardinal Rugambwa Memorial University College
  7. Ruaha University College
  8. St. Francis University College of Health & Allied Sciences

Bugando Medical Centre, Mwanza’s Weill Bugando University College of Health and Allied Sciences (WBUCHS), created in 2003, was initially part of St Augustine University of Tanzania before becoming a full-fledged university as the Catholic University of Health and Allied Sciences.

The university runs three campuses below:-

  1. Mbeya City Centre
  2. Arusha City Centre
  3. Dar es Salaam City Centre

St Augustine University of Tanzania’s prospective programs include an Institute for Rural Development, Agricultural Science, Masters of Business Administration in Mwanza and a Constituent College of Law, Applied Sciences and Technology in Songea.

St Augustine University of Tanzania belongs to the Inter-University Council of East Africa, the Association of Catholic Universities and Higher Institutes of Africa and Madagascar (ACHUIAM), the Commonwealth Association of Universities of Africa, the Council for Higher Education, and Association of Member Episcopal Conference of Eastern Africa (AMECEA) and the Tanzania Association of Private Universities.

Other Important Things About St Augustine University of Tanzania

Click here for more articles related to Education in Tanzania!

Recommended Articles From Around the Web