Diamond Trust Bank Tanzania Limited – History, Ownership, Network and More

Diamond Trust Bank Tanzania Limited – History, Ownership, Network and More

The Bank of Tanzania has licensed Diamond Trust Bank Tanzania.  DTBT is a Tanzanian commercial bank that was granted its license by the Bank of Tanzania.

Type Private
Founded 1945
Industry Financial Services
Headquarters Harbor View Towers, 9th Floor
Products Checking Investments, Loans, Savings, Credit Cards, Debit Cards, Electronic Money Transfer, Mortgages
Key People Chairman –Abdul Samji


CEO and Country Manager – Ravneet Chowdhury

Employees 475
Total Assets TZS:984 billion (USD 450.7 Million
Revenue After-tax TZS 21.55 billion (USD 9.87 Million)
Website www.dtbt.dtbafrica.com

Diamond Trust Bank Tanzania LTD Overview

Diamond Trust Bank Limited (Tanzania) (DTB) is a major Tanzanian financial services company, with assets totaling 984 billion TZS (about USD450.7 million) by December 31, 2016. Shareholders’ stock was approximated to be TZS 146 billion (about USD66.88 million) at the time. The bank owns 28 branches, 14 of which are in Dar es Salaam, whereas the other 14 are dispersed around the country’s major commercial areas. According to the 2017 June audited industry financial reports, DTB Limited (T) was ranked fourth in terms of profits made.


The bank (DTB) was established in 1945 under the name Diamond Jubilee Investment Trust (DJIT). Its headquarters were in Dar es Salaam. It had branches in Kenya’s Mombasa and Uganda’s Kampala. Following that, branches in Kisumu and Nairobi, Kenya, were established. DJIT was a community-centered financial firm that provided savings and credit to Ismaili community members at the time.

DJIT Uganda, DJIT Tanzania, and DJIT Kenya were formed in 1965, with headquarters in Dar es Salaam, Kampala, and Nairobi respectively. In 1990, Diamond Trust of Tanzania (DTT) replaced DJIT Tanzania as the company’s name. As a result of the change of name, the bank’s services were expanded from a community-centered finance house to a non-banking financial institution.

In 1995, Diamond Trust Bank Tanzania recapitalized thanks to capital investment from its stockholders. The Aga Khan Fund for Economic Development (AKFED) and Diamond Trust Bank Kenya emerged as the two largest owners, each owning 31% and 33% of the company. DTT was subsequently given a license to operate as a complete commercial bank in 1997, and the company was renamed Diamond Trust Bank Tanzania (DTBT) Limited (DTBT).

Diamond Trust Bank Group

The Diamond Trust Bank Group, which includes DTBT, is a large East African financial services company with activities in Kenya, Burundi, Rwanda, Uganda, and Tanzania.


DTB Group is the biggest stakeholder of Diamond Trust Bank Tanzania Limited, controlling 65 percent of the total shares as of March 2016.

Network of Diamond Trust Bank Tanzania Branches

DTB Limited (Tanzania) has a branch network in the northern, central, western, and eastern areas of Tanzania as of April 2017. The following places were part of its branch network:

Branch City Address
Arusha Main Arusha Moshi Road
Arusha City Arusha Sokoine Road
Dar es Salaam Main Dar es Salaam Mosque/Jamat Street
Dar CBD Dar es Salaam Diamond Plaza, Mirambo Street/Samora Avenue
Iringa Branch Iringa Myomboni
Dodoma Branch Dodoma Habib Avenue
Kariakoo Branch Dar es Salaam Msimbazi Street
Kahama Branch Shinyanga Isaka/ Ngaya Road
Magomeni Branch Dar es Salaam Morogoro Road
Zanzibar Branch Zanzibar Forodhoni area in Stone Town
Uhuru Branch Dar es Salaam Uhuru Street Kariakoo
Upanga Branch Dar es Salaam United Nations Road
Tanga Branch Tanga Taifa Road
Tabora Branch Tabora Ujiji Street
Nyerere Road Branch Dar es Salaam Quality Plaza along Nyerere Road
Nelson Mandela Road Dar es Salaam Versani Plaza
Mwanza Main Mwanza Nyerere Road
Mwanza Branch Mwanza Kenyatta Road
Mtwara Branch Mtwara Tanu Road
Moshi Branch Moshi Old Moshi Road
Morogoro Branch Morogoro Lumumba Road
Morocco Branch Dar es Salaam Airtel Tanzania
Mlimani Branch Dar es Salaam Mlimani City Shoppping Mall along Sam Nujoma Road
Mbezi Branch Dar es Salaam Shamo Towers along Bagamoyo Road
Mbeya Branch Mbeya Lupa Way Market
Mbagala Branch Dar es Salaam Kilwa Road
Masaki Branch Dar es Salaam Chole Road

Other Important Things to Know About the DTB Limited

Diamond Trust Bank Tanzania head office

DTB Centre plot 991- Kahama Road Masaki. P.O. Box 115, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania Tel: +255 22 221 8000 / +255 22 2114892

Toll Free phone: 0800 110110 Email: customercare@diamondtrust.co.tz

For more articles related to Financial Services in Tanzania, click here!

Recommended Articles From Around the Web